Wednesday, January 3, 2007

Concrete Blonde

God Is A Bullet

Active from the early 1980s to the early 1990s.

The lead singer / songwriter / bassist Napolitano formed the band Dream 6 with guitarist James Mankey in Los Angeles in 1982, releasing an eponymous EP in France on the Happy Hermit label in 1983. When they signed with I.R.S. Records in 1986, labelmate Michael Stipe suggested the name Concrete Blonde, describing the contrast between their hard rock music and introspective lyrics. They were joined by drummer Harry Rushakoff on their eponymous debut album. Roxy Music drummer Paul Thompson replaced Rushakoff on Bloodletting and several tracks on Mexican Moon, while Rushakoff was in treatment for drug addiction. Rushakoff was kicked out of the band in 2002 for failing to show up for several rehearsals and shows. He was replaced by Gabriel Ramirez.

Their most commercially successful album was 1990's Bloodletting [1]. The band broke up in 1995, but reunited in 2001, releasing Group Therapy in 2002 and Mojave in 2004.

Concrete Blonde's song, "Still in Hollywood" was part of the soundtrack for the movie "The Hidden".

On June 5, 2006, Napolitano announced in a MySpace blog entry that the band is officially retired.

• Concrete Blonde, 1986
• Free, 1989
• Bloodletting, 1990
• Walking in London, 1992
• Mexican Moon, 1993
• Still in Hollywood, 1994
• Recollection: The Best of Concrete Blonde, 1996
• Concrete Blonde y Los Illegals, 1997
• Group Therapy, 2002
• Live in Brazil 2002, 2003, double live album
• Mojave, 2004

• "True" 1986, vinyl-only
• "Happy Birthday" 1989, UK single
• "God is a Bullet" 1989
• "Caroline" 1990
• "Joey" 1990
• "Everybody Knows" 1990
• "Ghost of a Texas Ladies' Man" 1992
• "Someday" 1992, two part CD single
• "Walking in London" 1992
• "Heal it Up" 1993
• "Mexican Moon" 1994

No comments:

Ad by Google